~ Ode/Rant to Internet Explorer ~

Internet Explorer is the devil. Graphic by Ricky Salsberry

Internet Explorer is the devil. Graphic by Ricky Salsberry

((Not my best work, but written in a small fit of rage, and I’m certain there are many others out there who can relate!))

Oh, Internet Explorer,

How I hate thee!

Let me count the ways:

Unless I want the Apple,

I must a Window-ed prisoner be,

And in doing so,

(How well you know),

No choice, an unwilling slave to thee.

How I dread your ‘force-fed’ updates,

Which can royally screw up my box!

As your incompatibility demonstrates;

I curse you, “Begone! Thou PC Pox!”

Alas, there is no other “cure”,

But to download your clunky, junky “fixes”.

You torture me, force me to endure

Your bloated, cumbersome, annoying mixes

Of mismatched, piss-poor patched,

Malignant, intrusive, glitch-ridden code!

Would that the “fix” for you, Devil Browser,

Could be this poorly-written ode.

Your blue “halo-ed” symbol

Is an “e” for EVIL.

Malicious, grinning, sadistic letter,

You surely enrage intelligent people.

I detest the sight of the letters “IE”!

Can’t stand the site they stand for, see?!

I resent the persistent need for the “e”.

Let me use the Fox or Chrome,

And leave me be!

Dastardly, insidious, browser from Hell!

How I wish I didn’t need

Your unwelcome, forced sell.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2012

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Computer Stuff, Frustration, Poetry, Prose, Tech, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ~ Ode/Rant to Internet Explorer ~

  1. eebrinker says:

    Ha! Yea and try coding a page right for ie…….but plus side is that ie 10 in windows 8 metro uses html 5 and truly kicks ass. In fact windows 8 figured out how to make firefox stall on its os–and that’s impressive.

  2. I am laughing out loud. I just (5 minutes ago, no kidding) downloaded Google Chrome. Haven’t even read the tutorial!

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    You don’t like Macs, eh? I wouldn’t have anything else. I have to admit that my son’s been keeping in Apple stuff for 23 years. The only computer I’ve ever purchased was my first.

    I can appreciate your frustration because I’ve had PCs at work. This is funny … 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Actually, I don’t really know enough about them to know whether I would like one or not, although I don’t like how proprietary everything in the Mac World is. 🙂 Glad you know what it’s like to have encountered the Devil Browser and thanks for reading. Maybe when I can save up enough money, I will venture into the world of Mr. Jobs.

      • Jamie Dedes says:

        One of the things I like about Apple is that they have a fabulous “Apple Care” program. I took my Mac Book in when I dropped it and the case cracked. They not only replaced the case and fixed the mother board, they replaced the keyboard because i write so much the letter wear out.

        My son took his iPhone in the day before the warrenty expired because of a sudden problem. They replaced it with a new phone and a 90 day warrenty.

        There’s never any issue over who’s problem it is: hardware company or softwear company – it’s all the same.

  4. Jo Bryant says:

    My friend has a Mac and seeing how easy it is to use…well it is on my wish list. I never go near IE…sadly I haven’t figured out how to delete it from the computer completely…but it is Firefox all the way for me.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Well, I only use FF or Chrome as browsers, so I removed IE from my computer completely (had to go into the actual windows folder and manually delete the folder and several files in it which kept denying me access) – but now, I have discovered that my CD burner will not burn CDs because the WMPlyer needs an update – the stupid Windows Updates that you can ONLY get to by using IE. So, now my CD burning drive is completely useless for anything other than playing. Makes me furious. I’d like to try a Mac, have heard that they are much more stable and all…wondering how hard it would be to learn a new OS, and have to have the money to invest in it, too, which…well, not likely to happen any time REAL soon.

  5. I stopped using IE long time ago, I use Firefox and I’m quite happy with it!
    Thanks for the smiles and yes, I hear you here 🙂

  6. Luke Prater says:

    On any tech site you’ll see long discussions about just why IE is broken and MS will not fix it. You’d think hey, no problem, ppl can just use Chrome, FF, etc. But system-builders/company-suppliers etc need IE to work properly because it’s the native web-browser that is pre-installed. Clients may like to change once they have the systems, but large companies would find it very fiddly and time-consuming helping every member of staff get Chrome and teaching them to use it. IE is absolutely terrible. MS need to go right back to the drawing board and start over, but they refuse to. I have no idea why,. They just release new sem-fixed versions that aren’t much better. TBH Windows itself is kinda broken in comparison to OS X or Linux. W7 was a huge improvement but IE still sucks bigtime. Chrome is now officially the world’s most-used browser. Thank God for that. I love me a techie rant poem! Great stuff

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Luke. 🙂 I wiped IE off of my computer and of course, now it won’t update, etc. and has caused me no end of problems. Agreed that MS just needs to start over but even with all the people who dislike IE and use other browsers, the fact that IE is so integral to Windows means that the devs have no incentive to start fresh, so they’ll just keep issuing a broken product because they know people *have* to have it for their PCs to work optimally (unless they’re using Macs, of course). Ugh.

      • Luke Prater says:

        Macs are so much more popular now. ppl are sick of windows. the iPod and iPhone have done som much for Mac. Finally they got a break when they had the far superior product to begin with but lost the war of advertising/placement (MS was very clever to nail the deal with IBM for exclusive software/hardware distribution in tandem… and think how much IBM must have made allowing all the IBM-compatibles… ). It’s a bit like VHS vs Beta-Max.

Leave a Reply

