“WANDERER” by Jamie Dedes

((The blogs on my list are mostly poets and writers whom I admire and respect, both for their honesty and their skill with the art and crafting of fabulous, memorable writing. Tonight, I was lucky enough to read what is now my favorite piece by one of these skilled poets, Jamie Dedes. She has much more experience than me with writing and crafting extraordinary poems, and I’d like to share this one with all of you. If you love nature and care for the Earth as much as I do, I’m sure you will enjoy it as much as I just did. 🙂 Jamie, please forgive me for not knowing how to do a ‘ping-back’. I haven’t  discovered that trick yet, but I put the link to your page at the bottom of this one.))

WANDERER by Jamie Dedes

mountains rise round, pregnant belly of earth

and the aspens dance with paper-barked madrone

screeching their yellows and reds, brindle and feral

like the snaked hairs of Medusa they threaten

.

looming over me as I lay miles away on a mesa

the bones of my ancestors, the heart of my child

the pelts of the brown minks my father sewed

the vultures circle, ravished by my demise

.

I feed on the pinion and ride mountain lions

down slopes, into valleys, a wanderer, lost and lost

looking eastward, seeking John Chapman

he has something to say, or maybe it’s westward

.

John Muir, my ears are deaf, my eyes hear a song

emerging from black bear, a surfeit of salmon

burning sage, clearing America, the wild beasts

are defanged and declawed and I am hawk-eyed

.

© 2012, poem, Jamie Dedes, All rights reserved

Photo credit ~ Axel Kuhlmann, Public Domian Pictures.net

http://musingbymoonlight.com/2012/11/29/wanderer/#comment-18547

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Ecology, Environment, Food For Thought, Inspiration, Life, Nature, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry, Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “WANDERER” by Jamie Dedes

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Corina, how very kind and thoughtful of you. I am honored. And no problem about the ping-back. But, if you want to learn how to “reblog,” which is where the “ping-back” comes from … when you are viewing a post to reblog, be sure that you have clicked on the title so that the name of the post comes up in the URL. Then look below the url to the first wordpress heading. This shows the name of the blog, “following” “like” and “reblog” … click on reblog and follow the instructions from there.
    Again, thank you for this. You’ve made my day.

    Many blessing,
    Jamie

    • dragonkatet says:

      I’m glad I could put a bright spot in your day! Thanks for telling me how to re-blog to do a ping-back. As for re-posting your amazing poem, I was so moved by it that I simply wanted to share it with the rest of the world! It’s encouraging to know there are many others who love the planet the way we do, and anyone who can write about it as eloquently and movingly as you, Jamie, deserves some props! 🙂

  2. A wonderful write! So enchanting and fresh and filled with those natural images that bellow out the powerful and compelling beauty of our planet!

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    This is wonderful Corina…so glad you posted it. How are you doing ??? I think of you and Max often these days.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jo. Jamie is a wonderful writer and as Reena pointed out, a tremendous inspiration. I am okay for the most part, thanks for asking. The holidays are hard anyway, and super hectic, of course. But I just try to take things one day at a time…and the Universe will provide. 🙂 *hugs* Thanks for thinking of me!

  4. I’m currently having in mind Jamie’s last poem, CATCHING LIGHT! She always has something different to offer to the readers!

Leave a Reply

