Regarding Friendship and Happiness…

Fireplace stone at Grove Park Inn, NC

This picture was taken on a trip to Asheville, NC several years ago. The Grove Park Inn Hotel is a fabulous place to visit and this was one of the stones used in their gigantic (floor to ceiling) fireplaces. Indeed, Wikipedia describes them thus: “Upon entrance, is the Great Hall which measures 120 feet across and features 24-foot ceilings and two gigantic 14-foot stone fireplaces and the resort’s grand lobby is famous for the elevators hidden in the chimneys of the fireplaces, which transport guests to their rooms.”

The trip was taken with a dear friend at the time and upon going through pictures from that trip, I was struck with a sense of bitter-sweetness at seeing this particular photo. You see, my friend and I parted ways not too long after the trip and not in an amicable way. There are times when I really miss him. We were very close. It got me to thinking about friendships and how they run the gamut between temporary and long-lasting. We never really know what kind of friendship it will be until time passes and the nature of it reveals itself. There is a poem called “Reason, Season or Lifetime” which talks about the nature of how/why people come into and out of your life. This is a post which explores that poem in greater depth and there is a lot of truth in it.

As for happiness, I think true happiness is a fleeting, elusive thing. Like friendship, it can sometimes surprise us with both its intensity and its transience. Contentment is different than happiness, in my opinion. Intricately tied together, perhaps, but different beasts. Can a person be happy without being content? Content without being happy? It’s been said that the key to happiness is acceptance and I would add that it’s a necessary ingredient for contentment, too. Life happens in moments, and those moments can shift suddenly.

Anyway, my point of this post is that like the stone above reveals, there are roses and thorns, and they are counterpoints to each other. Enjoy and cherish the friendships you have, while you have them, for they very well may not be around tomorrow, next week, next year. Enjoy true happiness while you have it – for the same reasons. If you are content, and that’s enough for you, then be content and let tomorrow take care of itself. Savor happiness when you find it (or when it finds you). And of course, take time to stop and smell the roses. Even if you get pricked by a thorn or two, the scent and sight are worth it! 🙂

Chicago Peace rose

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Break-ups, Food For Thought, Friendship, Frustration, Life, Love, Nature, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Regarding Friendship and Happiness…

  1. eebrinker says:

    so true, Corina …. all a part of what makes life worth the long haul. suppose i’ve left many friends and ‘luvs’ along the way. one thing that was true on all, was that i gave everything i had.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. I have left (or been left by) more than my share, too. Like you, I gave it my all. At least we are true to ourselves in that way. Even if it doesn’t work out, at least we can feel okay about our parts in it. Thanks for coming by and taking the time to read and comment.

      • eebrinker says:

        always. you know the time taken for reading my things and going over them with me, invaluable. if could pay you for that, would. (thematic editor?) only hope life smiles strongly on all you do, Corina.
        E.

  2. Jo Bryant says:

    It was only in the last few years that I began to understand and accept that some friendships are not going to last…for whatever reason. I used to do everything to try to hang on to them…now i let them pass by.

    • dragonkatet says:

      *Nods*Thanks, Jo. I still have a hard time accepting that fact and letting go of the friendships. My mind understands that some of them are just not meant to last, but my heart has a hard time accepting that. Thanks for taking the time to come by and comment.

  3. Luke Prater says:

    Love this! Both the pic and the poem in it. Great commentary beneath too, sis. Hope you are well xx

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    A fine common-sense post. I agree happiness is fleeting, transent, flawed actually, rooted in the insubstantial. Joy seems to have different quality. It stands up to and is present in hard time and friends last until they are done. Life! 🙂

    Well done, Corinna.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jamie. You know, when I mention to people about happiness being fleeting, a lot of times they assume I’m being negative or that I’m a pessimist. I think it hinges on what we’re brought up to believe about happiness (that it comes from within, etc.). And I agree with you about joy, too. Perhaps it could be seen as one being from an external source (happiness) and one being internal (joy). Or maybe it really is just a matter of perspective. I don’t have all the answers, but I sure do keep trying. 🙂 thanks for coming by and commenting. I have been so remiss about visiting blogs lately and am slowly but surely trying to remedy that. I will be getting to yours soon!

      • Jamie Dedes says:

        Ha! Indeed I see happiness as based on external conditions and joy as being instrinsic to being. Friendships last until they’re over … and some bloggers have an off-line life. That would be a good thing and no apologies necessary. Hugs! 🙂

  5. Ah! … is all I can comment here! Too much similarities with flashbacks of my recent years! I agree with you and I thank you for posting this!

Leave a Reply

