~ Now, Again ~

PastPresentFuture

~ Now, Again ~

I skated the echoed edge of Shadow Country, tonight.
Perverse Curiosity overpowered Common Sense,
And I willingly walk-stalked my way in…
Unseen, unnoticed but not unmarked,
(Re)aquainting myself with the current version
Of a former flame.
A spider on the wall, me;
Web-crawling through the past
Half-dozen years of his life.
Complete with technicolor snaps,
Daily blurbs of his mundane,
I was able to observe:
Although in some ways he’s changed,
He is mostly still the same.
I’m amazed that the fresh wounds
To old scars
Didn’t hurt as much
As I expected.
But it was a poignant reminder:
Sometimes things
Are better left (past-protected)
Where the broken
Pieces
Fell.

~ C.L.R. ~ 2013

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Friendship, Future, Life, Love, Past Present and Future, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ~ Now, Again ~

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Sometime they are. Nicely done. 🙂

  2. wightrabbit says:

    Brilliant, Corina ~ I just love the expert way you weave these uncliched words to express emotions that I have felt, too. My ex~husband has become more friendly since we met at my son’s wedding, 18 months ago. I thought it would be great to have a good relationship with him, for the sake of our grandchildren. But he read one of my posts though Facebook and started sending me private messages, referring to when we were young lovers forty years ago. I was stunned ~ but given that he ‘cheated on me’ with his current wife, I could see that he hadn’t changed one bit. So I’m glad that he freed me up, that I learned and developed and found a lovely man, whom I know I can trust! 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jacqueline! I know what you mean about being glad that the ‘not so good one’ freed you up to find a ‘great one’! That’s one thing about the internet that I haven’t decided whether it’s good or bad: a lot of times we are able to reconnect with the past…and maybe it’s better off staying in the past and not have us bring it into our ‘present’. Thanks for taking the time to read and share your thoughts. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  3. Bodhirose says:

    I know the ones that are in the past should stay firmly in my past…there is no way I would be interested in rekindling anything with anyone, but still there’s that curiosity. I’ve tried to look up old boyfriends on FB but with no luck. I didn’t have but a couple before I married anyway and aren’t even sure what the interest is about. What is it about? You stirred up something inside of me… 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle, and ditto. You have enlightened me today. When I asked myself that question, I didn’t like the answer: mostly, I think it was ego. Wanting to know if he was doing better or worse without me in his life. :-/ Like you, I had/have zero interest in re-connecting or re-kindling anything. Boy, that Ego is a tricky, sneaky thing, isn’t it? Thanks again for bringing my awareness back, and for reading/commenting! 🙂 I’ll be over to your blog soon – I see I have several to catch up with!

  4. Jo Bryant says:

    I have done that…so far it is all good luckily there were no residual feeling to be stomped on. This video reminds me of The Boys…do you remember the episode where Robert Johnson summoned a crossroads demon ???? [Episode 2.08 Crossroad Blues]

    • dragonkatet says:

      I DO remember that episode! In fact, the picture at the top of this particular blog is “THE” crossroads in question – the one where R.J. supposedly made his deal. 😉 If you mouse over the image, it should show the url of the blog where I got the image and it talks about finding that very same crossroads (it’s a neat read). I added the words to the image, but that picture just had the right “feel”. I wanted to post that R.J. video because it’s the “true” sound of his voice – what most people have heard is actually a sped up version of the track and they don’t realize that what they’ve heard is not the ‘real’ Robert Johnson. The ‘real’ sound of his voice is in the video above yours (ty, btw, for reminding me of that episode). 🙂

  5. Luke Prater says:

    Some pain and prettiness in this piece. I enjoy that it is largely observational (ostensibly, anyway) so we don;t get too wrapped up in emotional memory. There’s more to draw for the reader

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Luke. Yes, it’s observational. One of the most important things I learned by being in FEPC was to “show, don’t tell” when it comes to emotion and emotional pieces, so I have you to thank for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

