~ No Peace Piece ~

Birthed in the minds of power-mad men,
Forged in the mouth of a dark thundercloud,
My sole purpose to kill,
I make murder a thrill;
The cause of many
A burial shroud.

A tool of war-mongers and lovers, alike,
Eat bullets, spit fire, life snatched in a flash.
Life of violence,
Ringing silence,
Endless echoes left,
Bereft and shrieking,
After the crash.

Image borrowed from globalwealthprotection.com

Were I not here, you’d find another way,
To continue to kill each other,
Each day.
Death-bringer, me.
“Equalizer”, I be.
Men, women, children…
None are safe from The Gun.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2013

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Death, Food For Thought, Gun Control, Guns, Human Rights, Life, Peace, Poetry, Violence. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~ No Peace Piece ~

  1. Agree, agree and again, I AGREE! This subject throws me into a mad thought process, where I can’t really keep the polite side of myself!
    I will use a quote by Charles Bukowski and just replace the word ‘Boring’ with the word ‘Stupid’
    “Stupid damned people. All over the earth. Propagating more stupid damned people. What a horror show. The earth swarmed with them.” …

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, B. I have to admit that Bukowski was pretty accurate with that quote. There is hope, though. There are some really smart (and caring) people on the earth, too…we just have to hope that there are enough of us to balance out all of the stupidity. The issue of gun control is not something simple that has only one answer, but it irritates me to no end when people make statements like, “If guns kill people, then forks make people fat.” <— It scares me that people who use such asinine comparisons are the same people carrying guns. The worst part about it is that to them, that kind of thinking is logical and makes perfect sense. There is so much I could say on the topic, and perhaps I will do another blog about it later, but this poem wouldn't leave me alone until I had written it…so here it is. Thanks for coming by and leaving such a thoughtful comment. 🙂

  2. Jo Bryant says:

    Love your thought process…it is just hard for someone like me to reconcile myself with people believing they have a RIGHT to guns.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jo. You and I share similar thoughts on that. There is so much to be said and no one, particular ‘magic bullet’ (haha) solution to it. I wish it were different, but that’s the truth of it – we don’t live in a world or society where guns won’t ever be needed anymore. 😦 It makes me sad.

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Back at this one for a second time. There is so much truth here. Thanks for posting this.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks for reading, Jamie. It’s an issue close to my heart, but I haven’t figured out a way to write about it without going on a rant, so this was the next best thing.

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    I continue to be grateful for your refined social sensibility.
    Be well. Long distance hugs…

Leave a Reply

