Things I learned from living in the South

I’m a transplant to the South. I was born in the Pacific Northwest but moved to and grew up in several of the Southern states. This is an e-mail I received, so I didn’t write it, but I found the humor in it to be quite entertaining…and some of the stuff in here is true – as a ‘southerner’ I can testify to the truth of them. 🙂 Enjoy!

******************************************************************************************

THINGS I LEARNED LIVING IN THE SOUTH
A possum is a flat animal that 
sleeps in the middle of the road.
There are 5,000 types of snakes and 4,998 of them live in the South.
There are 10,000 types of spiders. All 10,000 of them live in the South, plus a couple no one’s seen before.
If it grows, it’ll stick ya. 
If it crawls, it’ll bite cha.
Onced and Twiced are words.
It is not a shopping cart,
it is a buggy!
Jawl-P? means, Did you all go
to the bathroom?
People actually grow,eat 
and like okra.
Fixinto is one word. It means
I’m going to do that.
There is no such thing as lunch. There is only dinner and then there’s supper.
Iced tea is appropriate for all meals and you start drinking it when you’re two. We do 
like a little tea with our sugar. 
It is referred to as 
the Wine of the South.
Backwards and forwards means I know everything about you.
The word jeet is actually a question meaning, ‘Did you eat?’
You don’t have to wear a watch, because it doesn’t matter what time it is, you work until you’re done or it’s too dark to see – you work from cain’t see to caint see. 
You don’t PUSH buttons, you MASH em.
Ya’ll is singular. All ya’ll is plural.
All the festivals across the state are named after a fruit, vegetable, grain, insect, or animal.
You carry jumper cables in your car – for your OWN car.
[Why else would you carry them?]
You only own five spices: salt, pepper, mustard,Tabasco and ketchup.
[Everyone knows ketchup is a vegetable. The other spice is
bar-b-que sauce.]
The local papers cover national and international news on one page, but require 6 pages for
local high school sports, 
the motor sports, and gossip.
[Don’t forgit the obits]
Everyone you meet is a Honey, Sugar, Miss(first name) or 
Mr.(first name)
You think that the first day of deer season is a national holiday.
[In NC the first day of bear season IS a state holiday]
You know what a hissy fit is..
[And you know how to pitch one]
Fried catfish is the other white meat.
We don’t need no dang
Driver’s Ed. If our mama says
we can drive, we can drive!!!
 
About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, LOL. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Things I learned from living in the South

  1. eebrinker says:

    lol….what’s funny is since my grandma grew up in nebraska, i have quite a few of those. 🙂

  2. LOL! Even from this side of ‘the pond’ this is funny. Thanks for the much needed shot of humour, Corina 🙂

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    OMG…that is soooo funny

  4. lengesinski says:

    LOL…..Loving It!

  5. Perfect to read before bed…laughing releases all those nice endorphins. I lived in Richmond VA for a while back in the late 60’s. Living there does make you a southerner!

  6. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    oh no I am from the South!…
    this was great..except one small corrections(hopefully I am not repeating anyone)
    ya’ll is y’all or at least it is in Texas which some would say we are not any direction we are Texas…
    This was a great post my mom will ove it!
    Thank you for sharing
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Yay, another “southerner”! Actually, I know the difference between y’all and ya’ll, but it was an e-mail sent to me. I just re-posted it. Lol – no direction, huh? I guess every southern place has its quirks! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment – glad you enjoyed it and hope your mom does, too!

  7. From the first comment about the possum all the way to the end, I was laughing. Very funny. I have lived all around the country and definitely think this list highlights the greatest of the south. Thanks for the chuckle! 🙂

  8. Jamie Dedes says:

    I had to read this again. It’s too funny … ‘Jeet’ is very Brooklyn and same meaning … LOL! Maybe South Brooklyn …

Leave a Reply

