~ The Last Horseman Is The One Who Counts ~

gas mask dollar

There is no profit in peace, you know.

White Horse or Red, the blood must flow.

Human constructs, like Conquest or War,

Benefit the rich and bury the poor.

I think the Draft should be reinstated;

So that ALL might witness the horror created.

 

Send the war-mongers’ sons first,

To hold the Front Line’s Hell.

Watch them die, or even worse,

Return home, as a shell.

If politician’s kids are killed or maimed,

Will war then taste as good as they claimed?

 

Tell me:

 

What’s the magic, almighty dollar amount?

To make endless war worth the body count?

If Corporations are people, now, too,

Let’s send them to war, and see if it’s true.

Will those corporations scream in pain as they bleed?

Will they writhe in agony for a rich man’s greed?

Will they lose their limbs, and maybe their minds?

Does the Machine care about the bones, the bodies it grinds?

 

In the end:

 

There is no prophet of peace, you know.

The love of money is Greed:  War’s C.E.O.

The wars will continue,  the innocents will still fall.

And the Pale Horse’s rider will someday claim all.

 

~ C.L.R. ~ ©2013

Boris Vallejo's - The Four Horsemen Of The Apocalypse

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Death, Disasters, Food For Thought, Frustration, Human Rights, Life, Peace, Politics, Violence, War. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ~ The Last Horseman Is The One Who Counts ~

  1. eebrinker says:

    sad thing that all centers and turns on war. power with its capacity for destruction…and so true those making decisions are not the ones paying the price.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. I agree…I imagine all the good that could be done with all that money spent on war, and all the lives that could be saved instead of lost, and it makes me both sad and very angry. If the ones making the decisions had to suit up and get out in the middle of the wars they keep waging, maybe things would be different.

      • eebrinker says:

        true…..i mean i understand when communication breaks down and reason doesn’t penetrate….but there are other paths than engaging in continual war.

  2. Oh this is so good. I suggest e-mailing it to every person who thinks he/she has a say in DC!

  3. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, Victoria. I regularly e-mail my representatives and all I usually get back are form letters. I really wish that all of them would have to face the horrible reality and consequences of war, though. It seems to me that most, if not all of them are insulated from the truth of war(s), and it also seems like they never have to worry about their children having to suffer or deal with it, either. That needs to change.

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    Corina, this is a stunning poem – honest, true, well-written – may we republish it on “Into the Bardo” ??? http://intothebardo.wordpress.com/

    I’ll check back here to find out.

    Be well. Thanks for your visits, your work, and your consciencious posts on FB.

    Warmest regards,
    Jamie

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks so much, Jamie. Those are very kind words. Of course, I would be honored to have it re-posted there! Thank you for the visit, the honor and the lovely comment. 🙂 I hope you’re feeling “fine as frog hairs” lately!

      • Jamie Dedes says:

        You just made my evening. Thank you! Much appreciated.

        Am doing better than frog hairs’ – if that’s possible. LOL!

        Hope life find you and yours doing well.

    • Jamie Dedes says:

      Isn’t that an interesting – creative? – spelling of conscientious? Phew!

      • dragonkatet says:

        Very creative. 😉 I mean what you know. Thanks for letting me know the mouse-overs didn’t credit the artists! I try to be very careful about giving artist credit where it’s due. The top one was a random image found on Tumblr.com. I can give you the url, but it looks like the original poster either moved it or deleted it. (url: https://gs1.wac.edgecastcdn.net/8019B6/data.tumblr.com /tumblr_m0g00lscJW1rr3ncoo1_500.jpg) The bottom image is (surprise, surprise!) one of Vallejo’s. His style of anatomy is almost unmistakable in my mind. He definitely ranks up there at the top for fantasy artists! 🙂 Anyway, glad to hear you are doing well.

      • Jamie Dedes says:

        Thanks! I felt like I should recognize the bottom one, but obviously I didn’t. Not familiar with the fantacy artists. 🙂

        Later …

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    P.S. – Who gets the credit for the artwork?

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    this poem has so many levels Corina

  7. Luke Prater says:

    Amen to that, Sister. Yep, a bit like the anti-Gay Marriage lobby – if their child became gay.. very gay… they’d suddenly see the other side… or the ‘Pro-Life’ fascists… wonder how they’d feel if their 16-year-old daughter was raped and get pregnant… send G W Bush to the Afghan frontline armed with a handgun and see how many minutes he lasts

    • dragonkatet says:

      Ha! Bush fancies himself a cowboy, so he would probably get off a couple of well-aimed shots, but I bet he would have no idea how to handle an ambush inside a building or an I.E.D. That’s the problem with the lawmakers – they don’t have compassion because they don’t (and don’t want to) see it from the other perspective.

Leave a Reply

