National Shut-In Visitation Day (February 11th)

February is such a long, dreary month, don’t you think? It has grey skies and brown landscapes, cold and wet outside, seemingly endless.  Many folks are getting “Spring Fever” already, so tired of being cooped up inside with nothing to do.

I was looking for a way to make a post for February that didn’t have anything to do with Valentine’s Day.  It seems like when the middle of January hits, it becomes the Hallmark season for hearts and candy and flowers, etc. I have nothing against Love, per se, I just wish it weren’t so commercialized, is all.

Anyway, I did some digging, and I discovered that there is a holiday in February that probably not many people know about: February 11th is “National Shut-In Visitation Day”. 🙂 I rather like that, because it shows the true spirit of “love” when people can take the time out of their busy lives to spend an hour or two with someone who never or hardly ever gets to go outside and enjoy so many of the things that a lot of us take for granted.

What if you couldn’t just go outside and take a walk when you wanted? Or what if you couldn’t just jump in your car and drive to the store when you needed? For thousands of people, this is the case. They may be bound to a wheel-chair. They may be in a nursing home or place where they are not allowed to just “get up and go”. They may be elderly, or sick, or blind, too young, too old, or a hundred other things that make them a “shut-in”.

The true spirit of LOVE, in my mind, is the one that connects ALL of us. It’s the one that reaches out with compassion to say, “I’m here. I care.” Even when…no, make that especially when…it’s to a stranger. So perhaps if you have an hour or so to spare, you could visit a nursing home, a children’s hospital, or someone you may even know personally who isn’t able to get out and enjoy life the way you do. Your visit might very well be the only bright spot in their day! 🙂 Wouldn’t it be wonderful to bring some happiness and cheer, some sunshine to someone who would really appreciate it? I guarantee you that if you do, you will BOTH be much better for it!

And maybe next year when February rolls around again, you’ll remember how nice it was to celebrate “National Shut-In Visitation Day”. Or heck, who says you have to wait until February? 😉

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Family, Food For Thought, Friendship, Giving, Gratitude, Holidays, Human Rights, Inspiration, Life, Loneliness, Relationships, Shut Ins, Sympathy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to National Shut-In Visitation Day (February 11th)

  1. Bodhirose says:

    Good article, Corina. I didn’t know about this day. These people truly are the invisible of our society. I have a part time job where I spend a couple of hours or so every day with an elderly woman who is a virtual shut in. I make her dinner daily and we just hang out and chat. We’ve really grown very fond of each other.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle. I didn’t know about it, either, until I started looking for other ways to celebrate February. I have an elderly friend who is also, for all intents and purposes, a shut in. I try to visit with her as much as I can because she doesn’t have family close by and very few friends who take the time. You can tell that it really makes a huge difference to them to have visits from people who care! My friend’s face just lights up like Christmas when she sees it’s me come to see her. 🙂 So glad you are doing the same! It truly is rewarding for both parties.

  2. Jo Bryant says:

    What a good post. And a much better use of a day than V Day

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    Great post…and it would make a great change in what love on Valentines Day means..
    I like this ideal…..Thank you for sharing….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  4. Excellent idea, Corina ~ we could do with something like that over here ~ so many people are isolated and lonely. But, as you say at the end, why wait until a specific date on the calendar (eleven months away)? Great thought~provoking post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

