Writer’s Fourth Wednesday: Ekphrasis

Today over at The Bardo, Victoria has hosted the Writer’s Fourth Wednesday and prompted us to write an Ekphrasis.  She says,

“Ekphrasis is a term for writing that is inspired by a work of art, whatever media or subject that may be.” She used the example of Keats’ Ode on a Grecian Urn and invited us to write our own Ekphrasis for something which inspired us.  Since we are celebrating International Photography Month over there, as well, I wanted to use a gorgeous photo by one of our many talented photographers, Terri Stewart.

So, without further ado, here is my entry for the prompt.

* * * * * * * * *

Photo by Terri Stewart © All rights reserved and used with permission

Photo by Terri Stewart © All rights reserved and used with permission

~ Fire, Recycled ~

I bite the night,

licking and tickling

the dark air’s edges.

Greedy, I feed my flickering maw,

consuming gloom

in a cavorting, capricious dance.

Men need me.

I call to the primal nature of primates,

a spark against the shadow,

bringer of both life and death.

Is it any wonder the mighty Phoenix

calls me home?

Once sated, my orange and carmine coals will fade,

leaving only amber embers to drift into gray dust.

Even my ashes will provide sustenance

to the green things the gentle gardener grows .

You see, I never truly die,

I am fire,

recycled.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2014

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Ekphrasis, Elements, Inspiration, Photo Challenges, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Writer’s Fourth Wednesday: Ekphrasis

  1. PoetJanstie says:

    Lovely and imaginative journey through the history of fire – or the history of humanity, as it might otherwise be known 😉 – I particularly like the closing lines, which must surely yield its title … “Fire Recycled”…?

  2. Wonderful interpretation of the photo. I liked that you wrote it in the 1st person POV of the fire. There is movement in the verse, like that of a flame. The title is good!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks so much, Victoria! I wanted to try the first person POV since I don’t do that often. It was challenging, but fun. John suggested the title, so I have him to thank for that. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting, and of course, for the prompt!

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    A lesson about life and nature and one beautiful poem with your unique touch, much enjoyed. A lot of energy in this one.

    Thanks, Corina, for playing Writers’ Fourth Wednesday.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jamie. I’m glad the energy came through. Terri’s photo has a lot of energy in it and is mesmerizing and invigorating at the same time, if that makes sense. I enjoyed this exercise. Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

  4. cloakedmonk says:

    The words move with the energy of the flames. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

