~ The Zen of Writer’s Block ~

The white screen: blank, empty,

pregnant with Nothingness,

ready to be filled.

The monkey-mind of racing thoughts,

ideas,

each quickly considered,

and just as quickly discarded,

in the search for “perfection”;

The exact antithesis

of the stillness, calm

and peace,

of just “being”.

Silently cursing the cursor,

which blinks at me,

a steady taunting,

I search for the Zen in writer’s block…

knowing in my heart

that the harder I seek,

the less likely I am to find it.

Perhaps I can find my center,

with the framed, pre-programmed

tool of aligned justification,

listening to the spirit breathe

and following that breath,

to a deeper meaning on the page?

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2015

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Frustration, Peace, Perfection, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writer's Block, Writing, Zen. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~ The Zen of Writer’s Block ~

  1. Bodhirose says:

    Hmm…sounds like my struggle. Although there’s not much of a struggle going on really. I’m just ‘being in my space’ of the blank page. 🙂 I liked your reference to the alignment justification…why didn’t I think of that!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Gayle. I do struggle with it, and although I completely understand what you mean about “being in my space’ it frustrates me sometimes, more than it should. 🙂

      • Bodhirose says:

        Believe me, I feel frustrated too, Corina. My comment of
        ‘being in my space’ may have sounded flippant but it’s because I’ve been in that place for so long that it’s just become “normal” for me these days. Didn’t want you to think I had somehow risen above my frustration about it…far from it. We’re apparently in this together…I couldn’t ask for better company. 🙂

  2. Wonderful use of words to express that well~known frustration, Corina ~ I particularly love the image of you ‘Silently cursing the cursor’! You and Gayle aren’t alone in this empty space ~ I have been more or less absent from blog land for a long while. Earlier this week I felt inspired to write a little more freely, it’s reassuring to read that others have had a similar experience. 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jacqueline! 🙂 I have not been very active in the blogging community lately, mostly because of this. I have been lazy about making my rounds to other blogs, too, I admit. I will definitely get to yours this week to see what you’ve been up to!

Leave a Reply

