~ Under ~

((September is an extra special month over at the BeZine. We are celebrating 100TPC (100 Thousand Poets for Change) in an effort to call awareness to global poverty.  In the words of one of the Co-founders for 100TPC, Michael Rothenberg II, “500 events in over 100 countries, 100 Thousand Poets for Change Global Day, September 26, 2015. Thank you for keeping the initiative alive. 5 years of community building. Peace, Sustainability and Justice!”

Below is my humble offering to the movement. Please come share and check out some of the others as we dare to make a real difference for those in need.))

*********

Matthew 25:40 by Cameron John Robbins

Matthew 25:40 by Cameron John Robbins

“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” ~ Matthew 25:40 KJV Bible

*********

~ Under ~

Homeless Joe, has nowhere
to go. He lives under a bridge;
not a troll, just poor.

(Not in some third-world country, no).

Crazy Jane lives under
a delusion – from voices
of people not here anymore.

(In the land of the free and the home of the brave).

Carmen, a single mother of five,
lives under the stigma
of using food stamps to eat.

(In America, the poor are victimized, you know).

Speed-freak Charlie lives under
the influence of the drugs
which keep him wandering the streets.

(How many poor would that daily latte save?)

All of them, under poverty’s yoke.
Under society’s up-turned nose.
Homeless, hungry and in many ways “broke”,
Do you really think this is the life that they chose?

(How about walking a mile in their…feet?)

What they truly need is understanding,
To help them get back to dignity’s door.
Out from under all the senseless branding,
Back to being visible people once more.

(Please help the less fortunate people you meet!)

~ C.L.R. © 2015

*********

Photo © 2013 Corina L. Ravenscraft Quote by Ram Dass

Photo © 2013 Corina L. Ravenscraft Quote by Ram Dass

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Food For Thought, Giving, Homelessness, Human Rights, Inspiration, Poetry, Poverty, Uncategorized, Veterans. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~ Under ~

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    We are seeing a lot more of this type of poverty here in NZ these days. And what breaks my heart is the indifference of those who are not struggling.

    • dragonkatet says:

      I’m sorry to hear that, Jo. I think it is a problem in any developed country. Yes, there are far too many people without compassion until they have to go through it – then, and only then, do they understand.

  2. Bodhirose says:

    Smart one, Corina…strong message here. Poverty is rampant everywhere it seems and more are joining the ranks everyday. I did manage to write something in support of the 100TPC and will post it on Saturday.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle. It’s an issue that is so easy for people to ignore (which boggles the mind, really) but I think efforts like 100TPC and people like you and I can help make it better. That is the hope, anyway. 🙂

      • Bodhirose says:

        I have that same hope, Corina. I enjoyed participating in the 100TPC…some powerful messages were shared by some very talented people…including you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

