~ Soothsayer, You ~

((Shakespeare has had quite an influence on my life, from his poetry to his plays, to the point that not a March can come without me thinking of Caesar and the dreaded “Ides of March”. This came to me the other day as I was thinking about those Ides…I think all Muses must somehow be drawn to thoughts of The Bard…hahaha. Good, bad, I leave it up to the reader to decide. But the sentiment behind it is one I believe in 100%. Enjoy. 🙂 ))

Beware the Ides, and bitter tides of Life
That can catch you, drifting, unaware.
Beware whispered doubts and inner asides
That can make you feel
A restless need to compare.

“Energy flows where attention goes.”
I’ve heard it said, and choose to believe it.
You’re the only one who truly knows
What you want from life.
So go, my friend. Be bold, retrieve it.

Cast aside the toxic multitudes,
Stay clear of those who drag you down.
Beware of those with swiftly-shifting moods,
Like a riptide or current,
You can fall in, and drown.

Leave the negative Nellies to their nots.
Choose your path with purpose,
Sans rose-colored glasses.
Temper reality with positive thoughts;
Rise above the plastic, saccharine masses.

Know your strengths, believe in who you are.
Test limits, and accept that sometimes,
You’ll fail.
Self-confidence makes the journey less far,
Be your own soothsayer —
That’s how you’ll prevail.

~ © C.L.R. 2014 ~

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Future, Inspiration, Life, Past Present and Future, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry, Supernatural, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ~ Soothsayer, You ~

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I really like this…
    the negative keeps coming up lately more than usual
    I finally realized the one who keeps saying I am being negative
    because I don’t agree with them is the one they are seeing in that
    reflecting pool some call a mirror…
    I feel much better about me since I realized that
    This is really good and very fitting for the Winds of Change blowing through March
    Thank you …for sharing such a thought provoking piece
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks for reading and for such a nice comment, Lady Blue Rose! 🙂 That’s so true about negative people…and sometimes it’s hard to recognize them for who and what they are, but I really believe that one of the best things you can do for yourself is to stay away from “toxic” and/or “negative” people. It’s a very freeing choice.

  2. There is amazing synchronicity at work here, Corina. I literally just finished a specific meditation, in which I was guided to focus on a long~held belief which has affected the course of my life and which I wish to change. Your words are perfect and so close to those that came to me during this quiet time, validating my own thoughts and feelings, hopes and dreams I particularly like the phrase, ‘Be bold, retrieve it.’ as I have believed that I am too old to pick up on my teenage belief in myself as an artist; that too many obstacles had altered the course of my life and that I’ve waited far too long for it to be a realistic goal. So thank you for inspiring me! 🙂
    P.S. I studied English Literature to Advanced Level, so took apart many of Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets but I actually remember very little ~ even though I gained excellent grades, it wasn’t what I truly wished to do! 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Wow, Jacqueline! What a great comment…I find that the universe often gives us what we need if we’re open to it, and sychronicity happens a lot more than people think! It is never to late to become what you are meant to be. I firmly believe that. Do what your heart and spirit calls you to do and you won’t be sorry. 🙂

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    you really touched a place with this one…a deep, deep place

Leave a Reply

