Books that changed my life

Ask a librarian, “What’s your favorite book?” and he or she is likely to cock an eyebrow and respond, “Is this a trick question?” Luckily, this month’s theme at the BeZine is “Books that changed our lives”.  For me, that’s a much easier question to answer.

A quick bit of background: I’ve always been a Type A personality. I used to worry about every, little detail and tried to plan for everything. I was always anxious about the future, dreaded unexpected problems and tried to control everything (and sadly, a lot of people) in my environment. It led to a constant state of stress, which affected my physical health and took a toll on my mental and emotional well-being, too.  Not long after I graduated college, I fell into a spiraling depression, hit rock bottom and it seemed like there was no way back to a life worth living.  And then a well-meaning friend gave me a book that quite literally changed my life. That book was “The Tao of Pooh” by Benjamin Hoff.

Tao and Te

It started me on the path of Taoism and I never looked back. It was closely followed by “The Te of Piglet” and then “The Tao Te Ching” by Laozi (Lao Tzu).  I learned that we all have elements of each one of A.A. Milne’s lovable characters from the Hundred Acre Wood. It’s what we do (or don’t do) with each day that counts, and we only ever have one day at a time, so it’s worth making the best of each day. Worry and anxiety are a waste of energy.  The only thing we ever have control over is ourselves, and how we react to what life hands us each day.

taoteching

If you find yourself stressed and anxious, a Type A personality without the ability to let go of control and take what comes, I highly recommend reading all three books I mentioned. I can pretty much guarantee that you won’t regret it, and maybe they’ll change YOUR life, too!  🙂

Tao and Te2

 

 

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books that changed my life

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    About to have a read of them.

Leave a Reply

