~ The Other Golden Rule ~

I don’t know if this is worthy of Jingle’s Poetry Potluck Monday, but this week’s theme was “Rules, Regulations and Laws”. So, being the rebel I am, I came up with this piece. The way Congress has been dealing with “Rules, Regulations and Laws” lately has me somewhat p.o.ed. So what better way to release that anger and stress than with writing? 🙂

~ The Other Golden Rule ~

How did society ever come to allow

Exceptions to every, acceptable rule?


Who decides what is “lawful” now?

Having such cultural variety in

Our societal pool?


Haves still ‘have’,

And the “Have-Nots” don’t.

So the laws are for whom?


The ones without gold?

Heavenly treasures, or

Earthly given rights,


Gilded, parsed pleasures,

Or stressed, sleepless nights?

Laws tailor-made for

Didactic indoctrination,


Misread, spun, twisted,

All dependent upon your station.

K-band kinetics of

Each, separate person,

Slaves to the system,


Till society worsens.

Hell bent on loopholes,

Exemptions for the rich,


Rules for the rest of us:

Unfair bait and switch.

Laws for those, whose souls aren’t sold…

Everyone else dies,

$o says the one with the gold.

~ C.L.R.  © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to ~ The Other Golden Rule ~

  1. Jingle says:

    creative and beautiful,
    Glad to see you contribute.

    A++
    🙂

    have fun exploring other entries.

  2. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, Jingle. 🙂

  3. Bravo. Well done and true. I’m most impressed. I’d like to re-blog it, if that’s okay, with all links and credit intact. Let me know.

    Thank you for your well-wishes. 🙂

    Peace –
    Jamie

  4. eebrinker says:

    “Laws tailor-made for

    Didactic indoctrination,

    Misread, spun, twisted,

    All dependent upon your station.”

    that’s good …. really good. far as our system … took a law and politics course at U of U once. really helped. we had a whole book of supreme court decisions and each side of every case. plus the explanations on common law and the history of law itself.

    the concepts behind common law are one of …. making it a force to combat ‘classism.’ but far as national and congressional law … all i got is “i’m just a bill” 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. Maybe I should take a law class to try and understand how it is that we still manage to have something of a caste system in this country. :-/ I love that schoolhouse rock video! Remember it fondly from my childhood, although I don’t know why it didn’t post the link…?

      • eebrinker says:

        you know, i don’t know either … maybe the spam filter took it out? well, it’s up on youtube if you put in their search “i’m just a bill.”

        i think the caste system would be a lot worse if we didn’t have common law (maybe?). makes it so legally each case won or lost “builds” the law to an extent. why they have the ‘precedent’ business? which keeps the courts from being ‘bought’ by the wealthy and leveling unfair judgments, whether for themselves or against others. because THEN that judgment can get used in the NEXT case against their own sons and daughters, etc …. works as a balance. common law is the reality that made/makes our country great and at least marginally fair for all classes. so it’s pretty cool. such a simple idea that changed worlds. it’s also the way that judges and LOCAL judgments are matters of determining fair practice … so even smallest communities have say in building the highest laws.

        looking through all the old school house rock on you tube … i’m sort of a little worried about all the psych-programming we went through! lol

  5. LeiffyV says:

    Heh, great work on this. Quite the powerful rant mixed in with a golden message of this world. Looks like you got some great attention too, Jamie is good people!

  6. Michael says:

    What a great acrostic!
    Every word a gem.
    Lots of things to think about,
    Lots of haws to hem.

    Do, please, keep rebelling, if
    Only here, in verse.
    Not to call out what you see as
    Evil, makes it worse!

  7. eebrinker says:

    hey i have a comment on this “awaiting moderation” …. had included a link to that “i’m just a bill” video. the spam filters on wordpress put comments w/links in a special folder.

    in case it’s forever lost …. love this!

  8. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks again, E. It posted but without the link. 😦

  9. Scent of my heart says:

    He who has the gold makes the rules … so, so very true! And I loved the poem! Bravo! Thanks for visiting me!

  10. lolamouse says:

    I love your acrostic!!! What a civilized way to vent your anger! If only our politicians would do the same!

  11. Dakshi says:

    lovely…
    Thanx for dropping by..

  12. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, Dakshi. 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your work, too.

  13. Hi! Just to let you know your piece will go up on my site 2/2/2011 at 12:01 PST.

    Thank you! Well done …
    Poem on …

  14. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks so much, Jamie! 😀

  15. Pingback: ~ THE OTHER GOLDEN RULE ~ (via ~ Dragon’s Dreams ~) | MUSING BY MOONLIGHT

  16. Scent of my heart says:

    Very nice to read about you on Jamie’s blog. Once again golden poem here!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks very much, Scent of my heart. 🙂 Jamie has done me a great kindness by mentioning me on her blog, and I look forward to reading more from you and the others within her circle of talent.

  17. trisha says:

    I share your view. I should be grateful to Jamie (http://musingbymoonlight.com) for sharing this splendid poem with all of us.

    This is a piece of gold, i so share your views.

  18. PattiKen says:

    I’m here via Jamie’s repost of your piece. I’m glad she did. This is excellent, shining a bright light on so much of what is wrong with society. I know that people blame the politicians. But in this country, at least, we are the ones who gave them both the gold and the power. It’s a sad commentary.

  19. dan says:

    It’s been so long since I’ve been around someone with gold I had forgotten who made the rules. Don’t blame it on me! Your poem is well written and contains many truths. A copy of it should be hanging in Congressional Hall. All the lawmakers know why they vote for certain bills. Gold is the key but they think we don’t know the truth.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Dan. I agree – been a long time since I saw much gold myself. Lol, they probably wouldn’t want the daily reminder, but a good idea anyway. Indeed, it seems as if most of them think we don’t know that the love of money is the motivating factor for so many of them.

  20. Bodhirose says:

    Very well done. My sentiments exactly.

  21. ladynimue says:

    Well crafted .. sad though if you reflect on it …

  22. soulbro* says:

    AHHHH!!!!..the glitter is all gold
    One that has this, has the Soul sold
    Wishing one day that one does see
    In only of an anchor and never letting it be
    So insecurity is their future’s Source
    Running a muck in confusion is the course

    Enjoy Love(+)
    soulbro* 😉 xoxoxoxo—{–@

Leave a Reply

