~ A Fairy Affair ~

Image borrowed from Google images

Rarely seen by mortal eye,

they flutter, flit,

and swiftly fly!

Gossamer wings

of rainbow hue,

with a twinkle

disappear from view.

Trailing dust of dreams

and fantasy,

the fairies’ flight

few people see!

In mushroom rings

and shaded glen,

in forests deep

and ferny fen,

they frolic and in

wildflowers play,

reveling in simply

being Fey.

Bewitching sprites

of wild delights

they wait to dance

on lunar nights!

When gathering,

their numbers bloom

to dance by the light

of the pale, full moon!

Singing songs of

ancient rhyme.

Unmolested by

the sands of time.

Their cares for naught

but merry play,

they celebrate

the Fairy Way.

And when the sun

has just begun

to chase away the dark,

the fairies’ fun

will be undone,

at the first note

of morning’s lark.

Fading back

to leafy bough,

their colors turning

natural now.

They hide and slumber,

waiting for the chance

when next their number

shall gather and dance!

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2004

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ~ A Fairy Affair ~

  1. Playful and mystical =) Lovely

  2. Fairy emotions, made me wish I could spend a night in the fairy land and see close up what they all do before the light comes again! Lovely!

  3. Jingle says:

    fancy thoughts…

    your blog truly shines with dynamic images and creative thoughts.

    A++

    🙂

  4. What beautiful rhythm and rhyme. I love imagining the life of a fairy through your eyes/words. 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Aw, thank you! 🙂 I sometimes imagine that fairies probably speak in rhyme quite a bit. Well, plus, I’m something of a formalist when it comes to poetry. Thanks for the visit!

  5. That was truly wonderful. As one who believes wholeheartedly in fairies and the fey, you do them great goodness with your beautiful words. Let’s hope they reward you for your beautiful words.

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thank you, John! I’m not in it for a reward (although I won’t turn down 3 wishes or a pot of gold, lol), but I’ll let you in on a secret – I, too, believe the Fey are real. Maybe not quite as we imagine them, but there, all the same. I bet they would LOVE your ‘bird’ house – admit it, it’s REALLY for the fairies, isn’t it? 😉

      • Well, you’re probably the only one who won’t laugh at me, but yes. If I say birdhouse, everyone just nods approvingly and smiles. 🙂
        Have you ever read any books by Charles De Lint?

      • dragonkatet says:

        You know, I haven’t, but after looking over his prolific list of work, I’m dumbfounded that I haven’t! He looks like a writer straight up my alley. Many thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  6. eebrinker says:

    fun and spirited …. ! you know, a cool book saw once had smashed fairies ….lol. was like a diary and would talk on fairies “landing” on the pages where the author then slammed the book shut and squeezed them in place. and yes, expressions of surprise and all on the “fairy-faces.” ever since, i haven’t been able to think of “fairies” without the notion of them being squished between pages. am sure that indicates a dire mental imbalance of sorts *grins*

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E! Yes, I’ve flipped through those books, they’re fun. LOL – the fairies might think so, but I won’t judge ya, so it’s all good. 😉

Leave a Reply

