~ Perfection Rejection (or, The Function Doesn’t Fit) ~

image borrowed from catherinephilosophie.wordpress.com/

Perfection never pandered to reality.

Well.  At least not for me.

Rather, it is the domain of shadowed fakes;

Monarchs of kingdoms of self-deceit.

Blinded by the glare of their peacock pretension,

unwilling (unable?) to see the cracks

or breaks,

in their shells of umbrageous comprehension…

To be shown the truth

as it is,

and not how it’s perceived.

But then,

is it only an illusion if it’s never

quite

believed?

If perception shapes reality,

then I say perfection

still cannot be,

even for those who persistently strive,

Perfect? In the eternal eye of the

beholder?

Divinity rarely comes

to those still alive.

Maybe it can be

close enough.

After all,

To so many, it doesn’t matter

if it’s Live or if it’s Memorex.

But it matters to me.

Reality: the (perfect?) regression

of y on x.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2012

((This piece was inspired by two different WordPress bloggers: Memoirs of a Dragon and Catherinephilosophie’s Weblog)) 🙂 Thanks to both for the inspiration!

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Inspiration, Life, Love, Nature, Philosophical Ponderings, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ~ Perfection Rejection (or, The Function Doesn’t Fit) ~

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Live or memorex…love it
    And it matters to me

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Jo. I’m glad it matters to more than just me.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        Your mention of memorex reminded me of The Boys though from “Dark Side of the Moon”

      • dragonkatet says:

        Hehehe…is there anything that doesn’t remind you of TBs? 😉 j/k. I don’t know the episodes well enough by name to know all the quotes, but I was thinking of that old commercial for Memorex when I wrote that line.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        It is one of my favourite episodes from season 5 where The Boys are in Heaven, and Dean is talking to Pamela.
        Doesn’t take much to remind me of TBs…they are too cute

        “DEAN: Yeah, but (he holds his hand out) you know this place feels real, but it’s Memorex. Real is down there. ”

        OMG…talk about obsessed…

  2. The more you seek for perfection, the more you realize there is nothing absolutely perfect that exists and even if there is something, somebody to appear perfect at first sight, time always has its way to show the opposite! Exquisite Corina!

  3. There may not be perfection, but there is perfect beauty, in nature if not in man. Fibonacci expressed, with the beauty of math, the beauty of nature. Life is beautiful in its imperfection. Your words were beautiful in their imperfection. 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Now that is a statement with which I most certainly agree, John; “perfect beauty” in nature and the Golden Mean, for sure. I don’t believe in ‘perfection’ outside of divine nature, or simply nature, if you prefer (though I find them inextricably connected). Thanks for thinking my humble offering ‘beautiful’ in any shape. The good thing about beauty is that the beholder’s eyes can be so different that surely someone, somewhere will find beauty where no one else does. 🙂 The crazy thing is that as much as things like the fractal math fascinates me…it’s like I can catch this fleeting glimpse of it where it makes sense…just for a brief moment…and then it’s all mud again. Is it like that for you, too, or do you actually understand the math?

  4. There are times my sweet friend, when the math is so clear, it overshadows my physical life and resonates with the truth, I so seldom find in my day to day existence. To answer your question though, yes, there are times when the math is so beautiful, it breaks my heart to think there are those who don’t see its beauty. It is ephemeral though, and there are as many times when I can no more see the simple equations in life, than I could create this world from clay and stardust. It is that very uncertainty, that makes it beautiful. There are times I can see so clearly it hurts, and others, where my vision is so muddled, it is a wonder I can survive.

  5. eebrinker says:

    oh i wrote a whole bunch on the outlooks of how we structure our perception ……. mostly if one can fit a structural and perceptional field of realistic function within range, then what works, works. when we see systems inside of systems –is the model equated with birth which may not have realistic applications elsewhere. the perception “inward” is to see the child in a womb, with its child in a womb, with its child in a womb. the duration of lifetimes is “crunched” and seen all at once as infinity within microscopic means. but it’s not … there IS a duration, a measured rounding of space. never forget that math is an abstract mechanism, a creation BY man, placed ON TOP of creation as a meter for US. creation itself doesn’t give two hoots about how we size it up. enjoyed your write…. got me thinking. mostly i had to debate fractals recently and work against that perceptional morrass, which is something akin to seeing all of life as a prison caught in this repetitive function. i can’t live with that view. real for me is freedom … even if belief in originality and movement is sheer and utter delusion.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. Wow, I can’t even begin to imagine debating fractals. O_o I don’t like to think of life as a prison, either, so I’m with you that freedom is/should be the reality…of course that gets back into perception and how it affects said reality, but still, I guess I’d rather be deluded than depressed…*smile* I’ve been swamped lately and am trying to make time to read the backlog of blogs I have to get to – hoping to pop by your place tonight, Gods willing. 🙂

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Deep, Corina.. I like what you said about believing because it’s our thoughts and beliefs that make up our individual realities. No, I don’t believe anything is perfect…and just how does that affect my life? Not much! Or do I believe that everything is perfect…I’ve heard that discussion too. Take your pick…we get to choose what we want to experience. I understand what you’re saying about divinity though…I have to ponder this some more… 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle. I, too, tend to believe the idea of creating our own realities, depending upon our perceptions and beliefs. I do think nature and the Divine is the closest any of us ever get to perfection (although there may be a handful of people on the planet who reach Nirvana before death, I know they are few and far between!). 🙂 Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

